The 99p Aldi Beauty Buy I Can’t Live Without

I love Aldi. Aldi strawberries are the best strawberries I’ve ever had. I didn’t think I’d be a fan of Aldi, really. An assumption I’ve lived to regret! Aldi’s ethics are just superb – efficient in use of energy, employee time, resources such as displays doubling up as packaging, spacing (ever been to an Aldi superstore?) and not to mention efficient prices for their customers. Oh and Aldi chocolate… Anyway, this isn’t a food blog.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 22.23.34I stood proudly with freshly shaven legs, a head full of creamy Aussie conditioner combined with coconut oil, when I realised I’d left my face wash in my toiletry bag in my bedroom. Great. All that I could see on the side of my tub was a green ‘Lacura’ face wash. I had never heard of Lacura, but hey ho. My face needs to be washed and desperate times call for experimental measures.

I squeezed some of the face scrub into my hands, and immediately thought that the face ‘scrub’ looked more like yoghurt in appearance and texture. I was disappointed because I like my face scrubs to have a lot of gritty texture mixed within the face wash. Nonetheless, I slapped it onto my face and started scrubbing. Instantly I realised it was very cooling and soothing to my skin, and I could certainly feel the exfoliation beads within the face wash. It felt very silky and smooth, so I began to get excited about how my skin could benefit from using the face scrub. I couldn’t wait to see my skin in the mirror!

As I washed the residue off my face I noticed how luxuriously smooth my skin felt. My skin has always felt a little rough around the edges, and using a face scrub makes a difference, but I’ve never achieved such a high level of silky smoothness from a face scrub. It was like wearing a mask for twenty minutes, except, I had washed my face for around sixty seconds! After rushing out of the shower and nearly killing myself (note: do not run with wet feet on tiles…), I looked in the mirror and saw a shiny, dewy face starring back at me. All of this from a face scrub that feels more like a face wash…? The packaging didn’t represent it, but I knew this had to be from the expensive shelf in Selfridges. I felt bad for using it, because it certainly wasn’t mine.

scrubMy face was worth a thousand words when I found out the face scrub was from Aldi. Aldi! And not only was it from Aldi, but it was less than £1.00! I have purchased face scrubs for over £40.00 before that don’t compare to the quality I felt with Aldi’s face scrub. Mind = blown.

So what is in the Lacura face scrub that makes your skin so smooth? Well, the formula is enriched with vitamin B5 (Pantothentic Acid), which when absorbed into the skin from a cream, face wash or scrub, has the natural abilities to hydrate, moisten, soothe, heal, and rejuvenate skin. Not only does this all-rounder vitamin boost the skin, but it also acts as a protectant against bacteria and infection, shields the skin from irritation, and fights to cure acne, eczema, and sunburns! Not a bad ingredient to have in your face scrub.

vitb5The Lacura face scrub also contains vitamin E, which I’m a huge fan of. Vitamin E protects the skin against toxins in the air such as pollutants, which can cause dirt and grit to enter the skin, causing blackheads and acne. Vitamin E also fights off free radicals, which are uncharged molecules within the skin that play a large part in the ageing process! The vitamin helps to maintain richness within the skin, clinging to moisture and collagen, which keeps the wrinkles away!

Vitamin E and B5 together form a powerful bond in hydrating and rejuvenating the skin, and the benefits of them together are evident in the Lacura face scrub. It’s soothing, cooling, revitalising, exfoliating, hydrating, and boosting. Not to mention, dead cheap!  It’s fair to say I won’t be purchasing any other face scrub anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

